Alarm nominations ready

Now in its fifth year, the Alarm prize has established itself as one of the Norwegian music scene’s most central events. The nominations for the sought-after award are now ready.


Launched five years ago as an alternative to the established Spellemansprisen awards (“the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy”), the Alarm awards has now firmly established itself as one of the main events for the Norwegian music industry. The original initiative came out of a desire to establish a music prize that would better reflect the activity on the younger, independent and less established scene than that covered by the somewhat more conservative Spellemannspris. Alarm gained imminent status and popularity forcing the Spellemanspris committee to renew its approach to the nomination process and adapt to a changing music scene. For the last few years, the Alarm show has been held in conjunction with the by:Larm trade event, but in 2005 the two events will part ways with by:Larm being staged in Stavanger and Alarm at the Rockefeller Music Hall in Oslo on 5 February.

The Alarm awards are given on the basis of votes submitted at the Alarm web-site.
App. 80 music journalists have picked out the nominees in the various categories, and it is now up to the fans to cast their vote on the site.

These are the nominees for the 2005 Alarm prize awards:


WE – Smugglers (NUN Music)

Gåte – Iselilja (Warner)

The International Tussler Society (Sony)

Euroboys – Soft Focus (Virgin)

Gluecifer – Automatic Thrill (Sony)


Illumination – The Poppy Rocks (+47/Love OD/BMG)

Ost & Kjex – Ost & Kjex: Some, But Not All Cheese Comes From The Moon (Planet Noise)

Ralph Myerz & The Jack Herren Band – Your New Best Friends (Emperor Norton)

Mental Overdrive – 083(Love OD Communication/Smalltown Supersound)

Snuten with friends – We are the future (C+C Records)


Thomas Dybdahl – One Day You’ll Dance For Me, New York City (CCAP)

Annie – Anniemal (679 Recordings/Warner)

Bertine Zetlitz – Rollerskating (EMI)

Kings Of Convenience – Riot on an empty street (Virgin)

Minor Majority – Up for you and I (Virgin)


Enslaved – ISA (Tabu)

Mayhem – Chimera (Season of Mist)

Darkthrone – Sadonic Wrath (Moonfog)

Red Harvest –Internal Punishment Programs (Nocturnal Art Productions)

Khold – Mørke Gravers Kammer (Candlelight)

Hip hop

Gatas Parlament – Fred, frihet & alt gratis (Tee Productions)

Jaa9 & OnklP – Sjåre Brymæ (C+C Records)

Madcon – It’s All A Madcon (AA recordings/Bonnier)

Tungtvann – III: Folket Bak Nordavind (C+C Records)

Karpe Diem – Glasskår (Port Azur/Tuba)


The Thing – Garage (Smalltown Supersound)

Susanna & The Magical Orchestra – List of lights and buoys (Rune Grammofon)

Wibutee – Playmachine (Jazzland)

Lars Horntvedt – Pooka (Smalltown Supersound)

Scorch Trio – Luggumt (Rune Grammofon)



Ralph Myerz

Thomas Dybdahl

The International Tussler Society



Kings Of Convenience - I'd Rather Dance With You

Wibutee - We Are In Space, So Are You

Ravi & DJ Løv - Dødsøt

Sondre Lerche - Two Way Monologue

Ugress - Manhattan Sapphire

Newcomer of the Year – the Lydverket prize




Sissy Wish

The Beautiful People

Best track – the NRK Petre prize:

Euroboys - One Way Street

Kings Of Convenience - I'd Rather Dance With You

National Bank - Tolerate

Jim Stärk - Morning Song

Annie - Chewing Gum

As always, anyone can cast their vote at

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·